A Dog Story

IMG_2071

 

Over our fence. through the trees and three houses down, I can see the Great Pyrenees that lives behind his own fence.  There are a couple of other dogs that he lives there with and watches over. I love to see him and hear his gruff bark because he reminds me so much of Panda, the beautiful Pyr we once had.

Panda was about a year old when we got her, coming from a home where she had been pretty much neglected, growing from a cute, cuddly puppy into very large, undisciplined dog.  She wanted nothing to do with us at first, roaming from room to room, causing as much destruction as she could.  She chewed up door mats and dishtowels, entire rolls of paper towels, vinyl flooring and wooden door frames.  We had to keep her on a leash, tethered to our very heavy coffee table to keep her from destroying everything within her reach which was extensive.

Many would have given up on her, but we decided that obedience school was in order.  Panda was a star pupil and would have been first in her class if Bill, an obnoxious, late-to-every-class boxer hadn’t gotten on her last nerve during graduation. She crunched down hard on my husband’s leash-holding hand trying to get back at Bill.  No permanent damage done to his hand, my husband accepted Panda’s second place ribbon.  But in our hearts she had come in first.

Obedience school and daily workouts helped a lot in the bonding process, but she remained unpredictable.  She once flew out the front door and took off, leading my husband and our friend from next door on a merry chase.   They found her walking down the middle of the nearby main road, rush hour traffic stopped in her wake.  Our good neighbor, Mark, finally cornered and grabbed her, ending up with muddy shoes and white dog hair all over his dark business suit.

P-&-A-copy

She really did become a great dog, often standing on top of her dog house and watching over us.  She loved the snow and would curl up on the picnic table and let it cover her until all you could see was a mound of white with a black nose.

When we got a beagle puppy it was mutual love for those two.  Little Bugle Ann looked like a peanut next to the big white dog but, in play, Panda always let her have the upper hand (or paw).  The two were great friends until Annie died of kidney failure.  A year later, a grieving Panda followed her little friend.  I like to think they are together again, wherever good dogs go when they die.

Panda

Linking to
Good Fences

25 Comments on “A Dog Story”

  1. I like the story about her curling up on the picnic table 😀
    Have a fine day
    【ツ】Knipsa

  2. Eileen says:

    What a great story about your gentle giant Panda..My first Labrador was a chewer, but she nearly failed obedience classes.. we still loved her!! Wonderful photos, have a happy day!

  3. Pia says:

    Lovely story of past friends.

  4. Hootin' Anni says:

    Beautiful memories….the story you shared is a bit bittersweet…but when I think about it all…in the large scheme of things in our world, I say “What isn’t”. You have me engrossed in this fine post.

  5. TexWisGirl says:

    oh, wonderful dogs. glad you didn’t give up on panda. what a beauty. we have a couple of great pyrs that live on the property that abuts ours in the back woods, across the creek. their deep bark rings out loudly and baron likes to go down and ‘greet’ them with his own barks until they come out to see he’s there.

  6. kenschneider says:

    Our daughter’s two Tibetan Mastiffs also have minds of their own. They know how to obey but often do not practice the skill. They are enjoying all the snow in Illinois by falling asleep together in a corner of the yard and disappearing under the white blanket.

  7. Carletta says:

    What a sweet story. Panda was lucky to have you.
    When I go to visit my Mom we pass a farm that has two of these beauties. I stopped once to take a photo of a quilt barn and they came to meet me. I don’t think they would have hurt me but I got back in my Jeep. Lovely, but big dogs. 🙂

  8. Linda Kay says:

    Such a lovely story, and so happy that Panda had a lovely home. The two dogs are so cute together, but Panda is really gorgeous…look at that face! Thanks so much for sharing this story.

  9. Helen says:

    Tears, of joy that Panda had such a loving home and tears of sadness that they crossed the Rainbow Bridge. You are a lovely animal person which I will love,
    till I can see all of my departed love ones again.

  10. Heike Pohl says:

    A wonderful story ❤

  11. Panda was the most beautiful dog

  12. What a sweet post. Your Panda and Annie were just adorable and I loved reading about them.
    Also enjoyed the neighbor dog behind the fence, it’s a lovely shot and I’m glad it brings you memories of your sweet dog.

  13. Aw, great story Pat. Kudos for hanging in there with Panda.

  14. Robin says:

    Pat, a nice story! I see them all in a big field full of flowers and sunshine, having paid their dues here in an often uncaring world. I’m glad you cared!

  15. Teresa says:

    This is so beautiful. It reminds me of my Stella. She is such a freak (not touched by a human until she was 19 weeks old), but I adore her. She has a very gentle soul too.

  16. So beautiful story! Love dogs!
    Thank you for your nice visit and comment! I am very glad for that.
    Hugs,
    Sonia.

  17. ladyfi says:

    Such sweet memories – and lovely shots.

  18. Such a lovely story, with beautiful pics!

  19. Very sweet story Pat. I feel sure that Panda and Little Bugle Ann are together.

  20. Misty Dawn says:

    You brought tears to my eyes. We had a pyr too. Bear was a wedding gift to us from my dad. He was an awesome, loving dog.

  21. A lovely dog with beautiful white colour.

  22. Ohhhhhhh…your story made me tears… We love our pets

  23. It’s clear that you LOVED Panda! It’s wonderful that you gave her a good home/

  24. Such a lovely story and beautiful photos. I think they know you loved them.

  25. Chandra says:

    Such a lovely story about Panda and Ann!
    Thank you so much for sharing it with all of us.
    We just lost our 13 year old Old English Sheepdog in Dec. 2014.
    I am reminded of my boy tonight, as I read your post.
    While it makes a sad not to have him around, I know he too is playing in the same playground, where all the great dogs play.
    Thank you for stopping by my blog!
    Have a Beautiful Day!!
    Peace 🙂


Leave a Reply

