A Couple of Colorful Creepy Crawlies

The milkweed bug feeds on milkweed seeds. Not a pest unless you’re raising milkweed as a crop!

IMG_7575

Milkweed Bug

The box elder bug feeds almost exclusively on seeds of the acer family of trees. They do not damage the plant, but can become pests in the fall when, seeking warmth, they enter your house. (They’re all over our windows right now!)

Bug-kkluminous

Box Elder Bug

IMG_9128

Box Elder Bug

Linking to
Saturday’s Critters
Camera Critters

30 Comments on “A Couple of Colorful Creepy Crawlies”

  1. TexWisGirl says:

    we get the milkweed bugs, here, but haven’t seen that second one! 🙂

  2. Margaret says:

    Love the critters and their backgrounds. Have a great weekend.

  3. Linda Kay says:

    Pat, we had both of these when I lived in Illinois, but haven’t seen the box elder here in Texas. The milkweed one is around, as TW Girl mentioned…..I’m downstate from her, but we have some things in common. All except the rain this year, as we have had quite a bit.

  4. Robin says:

    Pat, very pretty if somewhat creepy!!

  5. geanina says:

    beautiful images!

  6. Jim says:

    Nothing creepy about these…..beautiful shots, Pat.

  7. bobbushell says:

    Beautiful insects, I love ’em.

  8. DeniseinVA says:

    Great photos of these very interesting bugs.

  9. Brian King says:

    I’ve never seen the second one. Very cool colors!

  10. We saw one on our doorstep this morning and meant to look it up! Now I won’t have to. Thanks!

  11. Oh. Ours was the box elder. IPad sent my comment before I wanted it to ))

  12. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    Cool bugs! Lots of insects try to get into houses and buildings when fall comes. The ladybugs have been swarming the south side of my apartment building on any sunny day in the last few weeks. (That’s where the praying mantis I shot was hunting.)
    ~

  13. Leovi says:

    Nice pictures! wonderful macro!

  14. Gunilla says:

    Beautiful bugs! I think they’re cute. 🙂

  15. Stewart M says:

    Nice macro shots – and your forth birthday post is going to make me check the dates on my blogs!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

  16. Birgitta says:

    Beautiful, great macro shots of bugs!

  17. Hannah says:

    The colors are kind of similar on the two bugs. I haven’t seen the Milkweed bug here. Box Elder bugs can get quite pesky coming into the house here, but not so far this year

  18. Great captures 🙂 I also love your black and white photos in the previous post.

  19. artmusedog says:

    Beautiful macro shot of insect critters!

    Happy Day to you,
    artmusedog and carol (A Creative Harbor)

  20. Marie-AZ says:

    They are beautiful!

  21. kenschneider says:

    The first time I saw Milkweed Bugs they formed a clump as big as my fist. There were all sizes. Sadly the milkweed is being eradicated in favor of soybean and corn crops.

  22. gerald says:

    Not seen one like that here – it is nicely coloured but I have say I am a bit averse to such creatures.

  23. Never knew those were Milkweed Bugs…and the second, I never heard of!!! Things that try to sneak in here are Lady Bugs and Stink Bugs…:)JP

  24. Leovi says:

    Yes, interesting shots, nice photos!

  25. I’ve never seen a milkweed bug before but plenty of those pesky Elder bugs. Nice shots of both.

  26. Jocee says:

    Great photos. Bugs look so interesting up close. 🙂

  27. JM says:

    These bugs remind me of the one which is destroying our palm trees. 14 around my house are dying! 😦

  28. Teresa says:

    I end up with lots of those box elder bugs. Great captures.


Leave a Reply

