Smartweed

Found creeping in the backyard. I think it’s pretty.

IMG_1210

IMG_1294

Linking to
I Heart Macro
Macro Monday 2

24 Comments on “Smartweed”

  1. TexWisGirl says:

    it is! don’t think we have that here.

  2. domnuio says:

    Is indeed delicate and beautiful 🙂

  3. You did an amazing job of capturing the special beauty of this bloom.

  4. roberta4949 says:

    looks like ladys thumb, we have it abundantly here.

  5. mtwaggin says:

    Those tiny flowers are hard to capture. So pretty (for a “weed”).

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    Oh my goodness, so that’s what this is called. I was just photographing some last week, and was going to post and ask if anyone knew the name of them.

    Honestly, Pat, I have been wondering (should have been searching, I guess!) what the name of this was for many, many years.

    They are such pretty little things, but they are SO special to me, as my very favorite aunt used to pick them, tie them together with a blade of grass, and give them to me, when I was a child. We have quite a bit of them growing at House #2, and each year, I carefully mow around them, so as to not cut them down. Each time I see them, I think of her.

    Thank you for the information, and the wonderful memory.

  7. Robin says:

    Pat, very pretty!

  8. It is. And if it only had a brain…

  9. Gunilla says:

    Very pretty. I love the colour.

  10. Jim says:

    We have that here in Nova Scotia as well, Pat. Now I know…thanks.

  11. Kerri says:

    I think so too 🙂

  12. dinajohnston says:

    Beautiful! Love the texture and color you did.

  13. Hannah says:

    The pink smartweed flowers are so cute, I tend to let them grow, and also am growing one from seed this year with little rounded flower heads and a darker chevron on the leaves, but I think it is kind of just an annual as well, I hope it will return.

  14. DeniseinVA says:

    Hi Pat, I agree, it’s very pretty and your photos are great. Coincidentally I came across this yesterday and took a photo, but I hadn’t identified it yet. Thank you for doing that.

  15. ladyfi says:

    What pretty shots.

  16. Very delicate and pretty

  17. seedbud says:

    Lovely photo. I think it’s pretty too and I didn’t know its name. Thanks!

  18. Gosh, after reading the comments on how many people like it I feel guilty that I pull it out and toss it over the fenceline into the woods. Although I know that weeds are perennials, this is not my favorite perennial!…:)JP

  19. fredamans says:

    It is pretty, very pretty.

  20. I’ve seen that plant before and didn’t know what it was called. Thank you!! Pretty, pretty images.


Leave a Reply

