Winged Beauties

My husband took these shots of a beautiful specimen of a Tiger Swallowtail (male, I believe) butterfly.

IMG_0013

IMG_0018

I’ve noticed this large black “bee” flying around this summer. Its pretty white-patterned wings helped me to identify it as a Tiger Bee Fly. It doesn’t sting or bite; it drinks nectar from flowers. It does lay its eggs in the nests of carpenter bees and its larvae consume those of the host.

IMG_1180

Linking to
Saturday’s Critters
Camera Critters

26 Comments on “Winged Beauties”

  1. TexWisGirl says:

    i need some of that last one! we have too many carpenter bees eating our shed! some day it’ll fall down over my car. 🙂

  2. andy1076 says:

    Beautiful butterfly..! what interesting patterns on the bee too :O

  3. Eileen says:

    Beautiful butterfly captures! I have not seen this tiger bee, I hope it does not sting. Great shots! Thank you for sharing your post with my critter party.. Have a happy weekend

  4. I used to see more swallowtails than I’ve seen this summer. Maybe I need to re-think my flower choices, although I thought coneflowers were good.

  5. southwestarkie says:

    I think the swallowtail is just about my favorite butterfly- so pretty! Not sure I have ever heard of this tiger bee fly- interesting. Carpenter bees can be major pains around wood.

  6. Rajesh says:

    Beautiful and colorful butterflies.

  7. They are beauties, and I’m glad to know their name. Love all that color!

  8. Gunilla says:

    The butterfly is gorgeous!

  9. kenschneider says:

    I particularly liked that diagonal view of the swallowtail.

  10. Robin says:

    Pat, great Swallowtail! They are so pretty! I’ve never seen the Tiger Bee before. But I do like it’s shadow!

  11. Frauke says:

    Wow – so great shots!

  12. Christian says:

    A wonderful butterfly.

  13. geanina says:

    Beautiful images!

  14. Brian King says:

    Gorgeous butterfly!

  15. Now I learned something new..love that

  16. Wow, interesting, and beautiful shots

  17. Margaret says:

    Both good captures. Have a great weekend.

  18. I love your winged ones. Are you aware I have a meme for them? NF Winged on thursdays. You are welcome if you wish. 🙂 Teh one open now closes in a couple of h.
    http://nfmemes.blogspot.se/2014/07/nf-winged-122-clouded-border.html

  19. And to thnk the Pres used an old badminton racket to wipe out the carpenter bees!!!…:)JP

  20. Roan says:

    Gorgeous butterfly and flowers!

  21. Beautiful butterfly captures – thanks for sharing.

  22. Joe Todd says:

    Enjoyed several of your posts and all the great photos

  23. lancequadras says:

    Now ain’t that an awesome capture.

  24. Love the colors! The Tiger Bee Fly is a new one to me!

  25. third shot (last one) is lovely! fine capture of a fly : )


Leave a Reply

