Great Spangled Fritillary

Butterfly

Linking to
Weekly Top Shot
Macro Monday 2
I Heart Macro

48 Comments on “Great Spangled Fritillary”

  1. TexWisGirl says:

    beautiful! the colors of fall (and cooler weather!) 🙂

  2. Love this, I’m always trying to capture a butterfly but they move so fast!

  3. Robin says:

    Pat, wow, what a beauty!

  4. Robyn says:

    That is a great capture, Pat! Love the colors and amazing butterfly details.

  5. Jim says:

    Love these colours, Pat! I just learned a new word….Fritillary. Thanks.

  6. artmusedog says:

    Magnificent macro shot of nature’s beautiful butterfly!

  7. Barb says:

    Love the colors!

  8. Tricia says:

    the texture is a great match for that lil one =)

  9. Lori says:

    You have created a beautiful fantasy land for the butterfly! I love it! the pattern of the butterfly is great against the painterly effect of the background.

  10. Minoru says:

    Hi! Nice shot and beautiful texture. The color of the butterfly is very impressive. Wishing you a wonderful Sunday.

  11. einfachtilda says:

    Wunderschön liebe Pat.

    Hab einen schönen Sonntag ♥ Mathilda

  12. geanina says:

    Gorgeous! Big like!;)

  13. Kerri says:

    Absolute beauty!

  14. Margaret says:

    HI Fantastic shot. All colour coordinated. Margaret

  15. Uwe says:

    Hi Pat (? –> that seems to be your name!?) for stopping by and leaving your pleasant comment under my “pool concert” post.
    Your butterfly photo is really awesome – great shot!
    Enjoy your Sunday, Uwe.

  16. Birgitta says:

    Love your butterfly photo!

  17. I was thinking the same as Tex! OOWEDO Pat, gorgeous! Margie

  18. Lisa Gordon says:

    Pat, this is such a stunning composition, and the color is amazing!

  19. Lorri says:

    What a stunningly beautiful macro!

  20. Leovi says:

    Beautiful photo, I like that butterfly, good capture with excellent colors!

  21. Leovi says:

    Wonderful photo, good appetite!

  22. Lui says:

    Seem to be looking at you and posing for the camera, Pat 😉

  23. Gunilla says:

    Gorgeous! I love the colours in this photo.

  24. Sweepy says:

    THey always get in my drooly eyes ;-(

  25. Hpw nice of the butterfly to dress for the flowers.

  26. Miss Kodee says:

    Just beautiful detail and nice vivid colour. I really REALLY want a macro lens to be my next lens.

  27. petra says:

    great colours!!

  28. Herding Cats says:

    Gorgeous picture. What a beautiful little butterfly.

  29. Jannibele says:

    Oh my, what a beautiful and magical moment you have captured. I simply adore butterflies and find myself running around in the garden with my camera….and the butterfly is gone:)

  30. ladyfi says:

    OH, how very lovely!

  31. jay53 says:

    Lovely shot of a beautiful creature! I’ve never seen one of those, but we have some very similar butterflies.

  32. Nancy Claeys says:

    Apprceciate the name — I only know monarchs and swallowtails. 🙂

  33. Lee Ann L. says:

    Holy Moly! Gorgeous shot!

  34. Gattina says:

    Gorgeous photo !

  35. Excellent photo, I love the details.

  36. Hootin' Anni says:

    Just one word today….EXTRAORDINARY!!!

  37. A fabulous shot…what a glow!

  38. Teresa says:

    I am always amazed at people who actually know the names of all those butterflies. Great shot!

  39. Fergiemoto says:

    Wow, this is such a beautiful shot! Lovely butterfly!

  40. Hannah says:

    Your butterfly makes me remember the Gulf Fritillary’s of my childhood that had silver on their wings. This one seems to have seen better days, with the little tear on its wing, but I like the stance and the rapt way it is eyeing the camera with its round little eyes, as it continues to sip the lovely nectar from the wonderful swirly flowers.

  41. beautiful butterfly. 🙂

  42. JM says:

    Absolutely lovely!


Leave a Reply

