Orestes and the Little Bird

About halfway through the summer, we decided to put up a window hummingbird feeder. It’s around the corner of the house from the hanging feeder, tucked up next to the chimney, making those territorial fights a little less common. Orestes soon took notice of the ‘little bird’ as I called every hummer that came to drink the nectar. At first, he would sit quietly and watch, fascinated. The hummers soon became used to him and realized he was of no harm to them. They began to play a sort of teasing game with him, bobbing up and down as they hovered outside the window. So he began to play too, lying in wait for them and jumping to strike the window with his paws.

kk texture used – partings

Linking to Texture Tuesday

34 Comments on “Orestes and the Little Bird”

  1. Tricia says:

    I would imagine that would be fun to watch… wonderful black & whites! =)

  2. Barb says:

    Nice B&W. So fun to watch animals.

  3. geanina says:

    🙂
    beautiful images! love it….

  4. mypenandme says:

    Aww! I love these. 🙂

  5. petra says:

    beautiful pictures. I’ve just watched my cats chasing flies. it’s so much fun, isn’t it?

  6. This is wonderful, your cat watching the hummers!!

  7. Stephanie says:

    Oh, I could watch this cat all day. Love the black and white.

  8. TexWisGirl says:

    so sweet! glad they got used to each other, enough to play!

  9. Herding Cats says:

    Lovely post and beautiful black and white pictures.

  10. Awesome series. So cute! Margie

  11. Gail says:

    I JUST read a post from a lady whose cat actually got a sweet hummer in its mouth. Thank God it survived, but still. These are wonderful shots and I’m so glad to see the precious hummers protected by the glass!

  12. Pat says:

    I spy something nervous! Wonderful story told with your photos!

  13. Fergiemoto says:

    These are delightful! Great shots, Pat!

  14. ZielonaMila says:

    Fantastic photographs, unusual views. I am greeting

  15. Denise says:

    Fabulous pictures here, beautiful in black and white. I think I could sit for hours watching Orestes and his feathered friends playing with each other.

  16. My 2 cats would love one of those bird feeders! 😀

  17. Tommy (my tomcat) loves birds, in fact he even eats them… My neighbour knows well this, he said to me that Tommy ate a few pigeons. 😀

  18. Jim says:

    Genius in making this black and white, Pat. Makes us focus on the two main characters. Nice job!

  19. Leovi says:

    Beautiful photos, Orestes is very entertaining with the bird. Greetings.

  20. dinajohnston says:

    Great pictures with the hummer in the background. Nice that he doesn’t freak out at the cat.

  21. my breather says:

    gorgeous black and white photos!

  22. Lisa's Chaos says:

    That is so neat! I’m amazed how close he came!

  23. Carletta says:

    Loved the photo essay and the end shot is priceless!

  24. Adorable! I love the cat and the bird “communicating” through the window. Awesome photos!

  25. Wayne says:

    That’s cute, I especially like the last shot where they are looking directly at each other.

  26. Stewart M says:

    I like the cardinal – but this sequence with your cat is great! It must have been torture for the poor old “puddy tat”!

    Stewart M – Australia

  27. JM says:

    Fantastic series! Well done.

  28. Lisa Gordon says:

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE this!

  29. Roberta says:

    Wonderful photos!!

  30. JillB says:

    What a lovely visual story! I especially like the last image.

  31. What a wondrous series and BEautimous story, Pat!! I wanted to thank you, too, for visiting my Texture Tuesday. Your encouragement means more than you could imagine!!

  32. Kerri says:

    What a great series!

  33. katerchen says:

    Katzenkino..
    tolle Bilder DANKE sagt das katerchen mit einem LG von hier


Leave a Reply

