Guarding His Territory

These little beauties will soon begin their amazing migratory journey south. I will miss having them around.

Linking to Wild Bird Wednesday
and Nature Notes

44 Comments on “Guarding His Territory”

  1. TexWisGirl says:

    that is a FINE portrait! ours have been swarming like crazy, so i know they’ll be moving soon.

  2. kenschneider says:

    You did very well, getting that shot of his gorget!

  3. Findlay says:

    Hello, is this a Ruby Throated Humming Bird. It’s a great picture. from findlay

  4. We don’t see this particular species, but the ones we do see are most likely moving south now. I’ve taken down at least one feeder; the nights are getting very chilly now.

  5. Boom & Gary says:

    Great shot!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  6. einfachtilda says:

    Du machst so schöne Fotos von hübschen Vögeln.
    Morgen gibt es keinen Beitrag von mir, hab etwas anderes und dann muß ich eine Pause einlegen, so ab Freitag 🙂

  7. fjällripan says:

    I can really understand that you will miss them. They are adorable!! Great photo 🙂

  8. Dina J says:

    Beautiful! We see them so rarely around here.

  9. You know it’s fall when they get ready to head South.

  10. Gail says:

    Awesome! You got the light just right to show off that bright red gorget!

  11. Denise says:

    Beautiful! Hummingbirds have such lovely colors.

  12. Spectacular shot! I’ll miss them, too.

  13. eileen says:

    Beautiful shot of your hummer. My male has left and only the young and female is here.

  14. Fergiemoto says:

    Beautiful!! I love this portrait! And I will also miss having them around…even if they are feisty with each other. It’s very amusing. The hummingbird numbers are getting fewer and fewer now.

  15. Jim says:

    I just refilled what I believe will be the last feeder for our two this year. I love to watch and hear them.
    Lovely photo, Pat.

  16. Larry Jordan says:

    A beautiful shot of the male Ruby-throated Hummingbird Pat!

  17. Mick says:

    Great photo of a beautiful bird.

  18. Kia says:

    A real gem! 😀

  19. Stewart M says:

    Thats a great picture and I really like the background effect – its not what I do with my pictures, but I can see why you do!

    thanks for the visit to WBW – Stewart M

  20. Sylvia says:

    Such a lovely bird, Pat !
    Wonderful capture … as always !
    Have a nice day,
    Sylvia

  21. Carole M. says:

    beautiful bird; lovely capture

  22. Becs says:

    What a beautiful image. Fantastic capture and I love the texture you’ve used.

  23. ZielonaMila says:

    A superb view, the beautiful bird. Such views are giving much joy. I am greeting

  24. Maybe I will finally get to see some in my backyard as they migrate this way 😉

  25. icybc says:

    Such a beautiful capture of such a gorgeous bird!

  26. I stora drag says:

    Nice photo of the sweet little bird! I so would like to see one one day.
    Greetings Pia in Sweden

  27. geanina says:

    nice capture! :)greetings….

  28. Jori says:

    I will miss them too!! I adore humming birds! I saw the brightest green one the other day.

  29. indrani says:

    He looks like he too will miss you. 🙂

  30. lindyloumacinitaly says:

    We do not get hummingbirds here , they are a lovely colouring aren’t they

  31. pam says:

    I posted some hummingbirds yesterday on my Sidewalk Shoes blog, though mine didn’t pose nearly so nicely for me!

  32. It is sad but that is how it is. At least you have some shots to remember this litle beauty.

  33. Lovely photo..I hope people put out feeders so they can get food along the way…safe travels….Michelle

  34. Sherry Galey says:

    Love the blue/green tones in the background and the processing.

  35. Neil says:

    Beautiful photo.

  36. Michelle says:

    Beautiful capture and texture work. I’ll miss them, too.

  37. Lisa Gordon says:

    This is beyond gorgeous.
    Magnificent photograph and processing, Pat.

  38. Anni says:

    It’s gorgeous. I love hummingbirds!!

  39. That is absolutely gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

