Mock Strawberry

I thought I found tasty wild strawberries growing in my backyard.  A little research told me that these are mock strawberries, also called snake berries or Indian strawberries.  Not tasty.

 

Linking to Macro Monday
and Nature Notes

27 Comments on “Mock Strawberry”

  1. TexWisGirl says:

    hmmm. pretty, though.

  2. Gunilla says:

    It’s very pretty!

  3. Gattina says:

    They are beautiful ! I thought they would be very tasty !

  4. Wow beautiful macro. Here we grow them in our mild winters not very successfully. But our friends in hilly areas grow them easily.

  5. geanina says:

    very beautiful image! 🙂

  6. Céline & Philippe says:

    Thank you for visiting us on “Les Fous du Cap”.
    Beautifule picture 😉
    Céline & Philippe

  7. Molly says:

    I have never seen these before. At first glance a strawberry but then you realise something is not quite right it.

    Mollyxxx

  8. I’ve not seen those before.

  9. ZielonaMila says:

    Nice photograph, interesting view. I am greeting

  10. lindamakiej says:

    Beautiful shot and wonderful subject here!
    Have a great day! 🙂

  11. I don’t know if I have ever seen one of those! Seems to me I have…. So they aren’t tasty. LOL you must of tried one.

  12. lindyloumacinitaly says:

    Calling by from Macro Monday interesting not a plant I know.

  13. Fergiemoto says:

    Nice shot of a very interesting plant! I have not seen these before.

  14. I have some woodland strawberries growing…not tasty either

  15. Leovi says:

    Wonderful, I love this macro, Greetings.

  16. Robyn says:

    I would not like that surprise either. The mock strawberry does make for a pretty picture. I don’t think I have ever heard of them before.

  17. the picture is lovely. so crisp and clear….guess the berry is very tart!!

  18. Gail says:

    I’ve seen something similar to this though it’s orange and about the size of a golf ball. Maybe it’s the same family as this. Anyway, pretty pic!

  19. elliefar says:

    I’ve not heard of these before – they are quite pretty though!!!

  20. I admit I have never seen or heard of these before!

  21. Hmmmm….someone just posted one of these wondering what it was…..now I know and can’t remember who it was…..ah well….it may not be tasty but it sure looks good.

  22. DelGal says:

    Looks neat but glad ya didn’t eat any, yuck! 🙂

  23. prumstaengel says:

    Looks crazy, be glad you did not eat one of them. 😉

  24. Kim,USA says:

    That is beautiful!

  25. Eileen says:

    I think I tasted these wild berries when I was young. They are not tasty, but they are pretty.

  26. Great shot, I love all your other bird photos too! Laura

  27. Lisa Gordon says:

    We have these growing all over the place at House #2.
    Thank you for the info, now I know what they are.


Leave a Reply

