Attracting Orioles

Previously, I posted a photo of a Baltimore Oriole that showed up in my yard. Here’s another photo of the same bird, taken on that day.

I had never seen one before and I wanted him to stay around so I bought an oriole feeder. I loaded it up with an orange half and grape jelly. I read somewhere online that grape jelly is like an oriole magnet.
I have not seen any more Baltimore Orioles. So far, I’ve only been able to attract the Eastern Gray bushy-tailed variety.


BTW, it seems Chickadees like grape jelly.

Linking to World Bird Wednesday
and Rural Thursday

41 Comments on “Attracting Orioles”

  1. Hanne Bente says:

    Great pictures you show. Wishing you a good Wednesday. Hanne Bente / hbt.finus.dk

  2. petra says:

    haha, too funny 🙂

  3. Boom & Gary says:

    Ha Ha, and they attract so easily!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  4. Karen says:

    Wonderful photos and edits 🙂

  5. My first out loud laugh of the morning, Pat. That’s too funny!

  6. TexWisGirl says:

    oh, this made me bust out laughing!!!

    if you remember the fruit tray i was putting out for the masses of butterflies. well, seems the grasshoppers and squirrels have taken it over, now. no sooner than i put out bananas and berries, little tree rat (or 6) venture over to clean the plate.

  7. minor says:

    I have never seen this bird. It’s very beautiful. Nice shots!

  8. Jim says:

    I don’t know what I would do if an Oriole was visiting here! What a beauty! Good to know what they go for…..so Chickadees like grape jelly? We have plenty of these here. Thanks for the tip.

  9. Nancy says:

    Is there anything that doesn’t attract a squirrel? Lol.

    I had some orioles earlier this spring when I put out an orange suet cake — haven’t seem them since.

  10. That little rascal…!
    PS..thought you might like this link

    http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_a_group_of_birds_called

    Have a fun read!

    Ron

  11. geanina says:

    so sweet!!!
    splendid shouts! 🙂

  12. HansHB says:

    A great serie of shots, – lovely to see!

  13. Mick says:

    Great photos and I do hope you attract the birds to your feeder – sometime! I’m rather glad we don’t have squirrels out here in Australia!

  14. lisa says:

    How I am smiling as I read this Pat!
    Just a couple of days ago, I bought some seed meant to attract mourning doves (just love them).
    No doves, but my yard is now way overpopulated with the “bushy tail variety!!”

    This is a wonderful image with such beautiful bokeh.

  15. Fergiemoto says:

    That’s too cute! I hope your new feeder attracts the orioles, I’d like to see more photos of them. Those darn squirrels have to get into everything! So far, they haven’t been able to get to our feeders. (I hope I haven’t spoken too soon.)

  16. arvind says:

    ha ha ha the jelly must be delicious!

  17. Gail says:

    Too cute. We saw a baltimore oriole once in Texas. Once! Don’t you hate that? At least you got two good shots of this one.

  18. itsallaboutpurple says:

    haha….those squirrels are always the same!!

  19. Leovi says:

    Wonderful photos, yes, I love that bonitoBaltimore Oriole. It seems that the squirrel if you like grape jelly.

  20. Hi there – it seems that the old “tree rats” are just as much of a pest for you are the “roof rabbits” (Possums!) are for us!

    SM

  21. Pat says:

    That little bushy tailed squirrel is too funny!

  22. ladyfi says:

    OH dear! Too adorable.

  23. Buttons says:

    Love this the pics are very cool. B

  24. Sorry you missed your bird, but those are some great pictures anyway. 😉

  25. Synnöve says:

    The orange bird is wonderful. The squirrel too. Beautiful photos.
    Kind regards, Synnöve

  26. Michelle says:

    Oh, goodness…at least he’s photogenic! Love the oriole photo with all the pretty bokeh dots.

  27. Anne Payne says:

    That is a great photo of the squirrel 🙂 The bird is beautiful, too! I didn’t know there are special feeders for Orioles. Interesting.

  28. LOL … yeh, I have that bushy variety as well! Oh, I’d love to see an orioles in my backyard!

  29. I went and got an oriole feeder and it wasn’t used so I put the orange half back….but none of the squirrels have shown an interest….so I am surprised….Michelle

  30. I have never seen one of these in person. THey are gorgeous birds.

  31. Teresa says:

    Well at least someone is enjoying the treats! Love that bird.

  32. The oriole is beautiful and the squirrel made me laugh! Wonderful photos!

  33. Marcie says:

    What a gorgeous capture of this gorgeous bird. And your jelly story – made me laugh!

  34. onejackdaw says:

    Great treat for the squirrel, Pat, and I bet it keeps the orioles away ;-( I have had similar luck with oriole feeders.

  35. Nancy says:

    Thank you for sharing at Rural Thursdays this week. xoxo

  36. JM says:

    Gorgeous Oriole! The squirrel looks so funny on the bottom pic. Great shot.

  37. Carletta says:

    Love the bubbles of bokeh! I hope the oriole comes back to visit you.
    The squirrel shots just make me smile.

  38. dianecayton says:

    Oh my goodness.. VERY cute squirrel pics!

  39. Misty Dawn says:

    I too have heard to use oranges and grape jelly. Hey, squirrels are cute too 😉

  40. That’s a very fuzzy grey Oriole there! 😉


Leave a Reply

