Mine, All Mine!

This bird feeder is designed so that the weight of a heavier bird will cause the feeding ports to close. However, one Grackle may perch and eat from the partially closed ports, but a second Grackle landing on the perch would cause them to close completely. This guy has figured that out and will let no one else come near until he’s finished eating.

Linking to Camera Critters

36 Comments on “Mine, All Mine!”

  1. eileen says:

    Ahh, they are smart birds. Hungry too! Great capture.

  2. Nancy says:

    Amazing how clever they are!

  3. dou dou says:

    That is so funny! Look at his face LOL

  4. jbcuvelier says:

    Pat, if I was a Grackle I wouldn’t go near that one! Look at that eye! Love this!

  5. How funny, Pat! That guy sure looks like someone I wouldn’t want to contend with.

  6. TexWisGirl says:

    perfect sinister look!

    (to answer your question, the cormorants will visit our pond on occasion, but usually only for a day to fish, dry off, and go again.) 🙂

  7. Pat…there is a tension rod in the middle of the feeder that has arrows on it to increase or decreased the weight sensitivity. You can make it so that a heavy bird like a grackle can’t sit on it. You could also take off the cardinal ring (green) which makes it a little more difficult. I just cleaned the 2 I have….

    • Pat says:

      Since we have other feeders, we adjusted the tension so that a single heavier bird could use it. The Cardinals love it. We wanted to keep the squirrels out and it works!

  8. ladyfi says:

    That is a very intense look!

  9. Pat..make the tension rod inside the feeder less sensitive..look at the arrows and turn it so that a larger bird like a grackle can’t stand on the ring without it closing..I have 2 of them..

  10. I wouldn’t mess with him! Margie

  11. marciescudder says:

    What an exquisite capture. He looks mean..and he looks angry!

  12. Very good capture.

    Regards and best wishes

  13. … and I ain’t sharing .. so step away from the feeder. NOW!

    Please stop by my blog for a link to a new movie coming out soon called “Darling Companion” with Diane Keaton and Kevin Kline. I thought I would share with all of the Camera Critters! I haven’t seen it yet .. but I’m looking forward to seeing it. Let me know what you think!

  14. geanina says:

    beautiful bird and very nice colors :). like…

  15. fromsophiesview says:

    These guys are as smart as crows!

  16. fromsophiesview says:

    These birds are as smart as crows!

  17. Maple Lane says:

    What determination. Great photo.

  18. Mick says:

    Clever bird and great photo. I guess I should also say that the person who designed the feeder was clever too!

  19. Oh My – love those eyes! Great shot.

  20. OMG love those eyes! Great capture.

  21. lisa says:

    Good for him!!!
    This is a great shot Pat.

  22. clever bird… good photo… clever feeder… good post

  23. Ruta says:

    What an expression…they are clever aren’t they…

  24. ashrajpr says:

    That is smartness.

  25. Oh, I love that! Great shot, Pat! Very expressive for a bird. Nice!

  26. What a smart fellow. As long as no one else comes he can eat all he wants.

  27. Gorgeous!!

    My Critter post, have a blessed Sunday!

  28. What a smart bird … what a great feeder.

  29. JM says:

    The title is perfect, look at those eyes! 🙂

  30. Fergiemoto says:

    Great shot, yet a very intense face. He seems to be saying “Don’t mess with me!”

  31. Shannon says:

    Oh my! He is a little scary! I would not mess with him!

  32. emzkie says:

    oh he look so mean. lol. fantastic shot! thanks for visiting from Camera critters

    http://www.myphotomeme.com/2012/03/24/camera-critterssooc-sunday-baby-oscar/

  33. Tammy says:

    Look out! I think he’s got his eye on you 🙂


Leave a Reply

