House Finch Courtship

This is not the best quality shot, but I felt fortunate to capture this moment between a pair of House Finches. What is difficult to see in the photo is that the male finch is holding a sunflower seed in his beak and presenting it to the female. I watched him choose it from the feeder while she waited on the tree branch. I knew that this was a courtship ritual for Cardinals but did not know that it was part of House Finch behavior.

Linking to
The Creative Exchange

38 Comments on “House Finch Courtship”

  1. Scriptor Obscura says:

    This is gorgeous. So sweet. What a lovely photo! I can see the visible expressions of tenderness and caring and love on the little birds’ faces! Wow, what a shot! Not the best quality? I disagree! This is a wonderful image! 😀

  2. Nadege says:

    They look so sweet. Lovely image.

  3. I didn’t realize they behaved that way, either! Every so often, house finches drop by to mingle with the multitude of goldfinches at my feeders. I would love to see something like this!

  4. Too, too beautiful….I hope you don’t mind but I’m going to make this my laptop background this week – it’s the loveliest image that I’ve seen in the longest time.

    Happy day & thank you for sharing this gift.
    x

  5. Sweepy says:

    Woof, they feed each other seeds to mate. My Popsy just presents himself to my Mumsy and Mumsy drooled in love. As for me, I wouldn’t know because I never really have a mate ;-(

  6. Lui says:

    I always love the tenderness in your images. The composition, texture, figures all work to tell a lovely tale!

  7. Zinnia Blom says:

    Beautiful picture! Courtship and cooperation. Imagine that you managed to capture just the right moment! I wish you a very nice week! Zinnia

  8. geanina says:

    lovely image!! weel done :)…

  9. Liz Thomas says:

    So beautiful. Love the soft subtle colors.

  10. Ellie says:

    I really like your picture – and it is so sweet. How lovely you got to capture the moment on your camera.

  11. Annika says:

    What a brilliant capture. I love how the colour of the male matches the colour of the plant.

  12. lisa says:

    What a precious moment you have captured here Pat.
    They are just adorable, and I absolutely LOVE this photograph!

    Thank you so very much for being a part of The Creative Exchange today.

    Have a wonderful day, and I will still be seeing you in “Blogland!”

    lisa.

  13. Tanya says:

    what a sweet image 🙂

  14. RH West says:

    Lovely! I managed to catch a pair of Robin’s doing this last year too! ( I also enjoy it when my partner comes home with bags of food!) Great shot!

  15. Dina J says:

    You caught a very touching moment. It does look like they’re about to kiss.

  16. TexWisGirl says:

    how very sweet! nothing like a bit of wooing…

  17. Karen says:

    I love the delicate quality of this shot!

  18. Vita Stunder says:

    Lovley moment and brilliant shot!

  19. Bogie says:

    Lovely! Nice shot.

  20. Tricia says:

    Oh HOW COOL! I, too, knew Cardinals would do that, but didn’t know Finches did it, too! That’s so incredible sweet & SO COOL that you got it on film… ok, digital film! LoL! =)

  21. What a great moment captured! I saw a pair of cardinals doing this yesterday, it’s that time of year!

  22. A Garden of Threads says:

    Beautiful, the texture give the shot such a romantic feel. Perfect for the courtship.

  23. How charming and sweet….love it!!

  24. Rosie Grey says:

    How cute – what a great shot and also wonderful processing!

  25. kenschneider says:

    That’s a great moment you caught. Interestingly, when I lived in New Mexico I often saw House Finches feed the young of Black-headed Grosbeaks. The latter actively begged from them and the House Finches seemed unable to resist!

  26. Pat, that is such a sweet shot! I had no idea the purple finches did that either.

  27. Nancy says:

    I often see Momma sparrows feeding their teenagers this way — it is very endearing. Great shot, Pat. 🙂

  28. Wonderful photo.

    Regards and best wishes

  29. Hilda says:

    Love it!!! Beautiful and lovely.
    Greetings from Hilda

  30. Aw, it’s a beauty Pat! Love the corally colors you used. Margie

  31. minor says:

    Very lovely shot! I think it takes a long time to take this heart warming scene.

  32. So special to catch that..it sort of like being taken out to dinner..are we so different..

  33. ladyfi says:

    OH, this is adorable!

  34. Oh, so very sweet. That’s a perfect capture.

  35. genie says:

    What a wonderful ritual which you were so fortunate to see. I just love the way you processed the picture. It is beautiful and so romantic. I could see it right now hanging on a wall in the house. genie

  36. Laurie says:

    This is such a sweet picture.

  37. Nancy Reinke says:

    I love this, Pat. Soft and sweet. Wonderful.


Leave a Reply

