A Little Beauty

Female Northern Cardinal

Linking to

30 Comments on “A Little Beauty”

  1. I love his crest. Beautiful.

  2. Pat, what a sweet, beautiful cardinal! Beautiful capture, and great texturing.

  3. geanina says:

    fantastic capture! colors are great 🙂

  4. John says:

    We do not have cardinals out west and usally all the blog posts I see are of the brilliant males. Never get to see females much so thank you for showing this one. I think she is just as pretty in her own way.

  5. Arija says:

    Such a charming lady with the red on her wings and tail and the colours around her beak, not to mention the cute crest. A beautiful shot indeed.

  6. Another great photograph – you do have some beauties! And the texture here makes a perfect background with the soft fall colors.

  7. Oh my, a little beauty is right. Margie

  8. springman says:

    Hands down, The female cardinal is my favorite of the winter birds. I love how the pairs never feed at once, but one or the other will stand watch from a near by limb. Excellent rendering of this wonderful bird!

  9. TexWisGirl says:

    this is gorgeous, pat!

  10. onejackdaw says:

    I love the light in this shot. It shows off the subtle shadings in the plumage. I generally find the female is much more interesting than the male.

  11. Pat Ulrich says:

    She’s lovely! Beautiful portrait!

  12. it´s a beauty alright. And you did a good job with the texture too.

  13. Andrew says:

    A beautiful capture of a lovely little bird…thanks for sharing

  14. Gary & Boom says:

    Beautiful capture!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  15. Beautiful photo, Pat! Nice job!

  16. Pat, you continue to amaze me with your spectacular photos — the clarity, lighting, composition, coloring — just everything (not to mention your perfect little subject!!) 🙂

  17. she is beautiful, sporting her mohawk!!

  18. robin says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!!! Really, I love this photo, the colors, composition and edit are all spot on.

  19. I love this shot and think your editing adds so much to it! I think the female cardinals are every bit as beautiful as their male counterparts are.

  20. Larry Jordan says:

    A gorgeous shot of the beautiful female Cardinal. I have always enjoyed their subtle beauty over the bright red of the male of the species.

  21. Thank you for your visit in my blog.
    So many lovely photos, I really love all of them ! !

  22. She is so beautiful and love how you have processed the photo!

  23. Gail says:

    I love the way the texture/background mimics the colors of her feathers. Great job!!

  24. dou dou says:

    I agree, she is lovely.

    What is World Bird Wednesday?? Hmm off to so some research

  25. Cathy says:

    wow! this female is just as beautiful as the males are! the texture and background really add to the beauty of the photo : )

  26. CameraCruise says:

    Gorgeous shot!
    She is so beautiful.
    Have a nice weekend.

  27. johanna says:

    i wish we had these beautiful birds over here… and i also think the females are underestimated compared with the beautiful red males! wonderful shot!

  28. Marilyn says:

    I think I left my comment on the kitten post but it doesn’t make any difference. I like them all. I particularly like this cardinal. She’s so pretty.

  29. Carole M. says:

    oh my another fabulous cardinal; haven’t seen this one before; they’re beautiful birds; lovely photograph


Leave a Reply

