I Never Met a Gourd I Didn’t Like

I always thought it would be fun to grow gourds, dry them and use them in some kind of craft. Well, I still haven’t done that, but we did get these from the market the other day. They’re just for admiring.

Orestes, my ever-present helper

Linking to

25 Comments on “I Never Met a Gourd I Didn’t Like”

  1. Ruth West says:

    all these are amazing! I love the soft focus in that middle one and the colours are great in all 🙂

  2. The first one looks like a painting! Happy Halloween! 🎃

  3. Synnöve says:

    Wonderful arrangement and beautiful decoration too.

  4. Motherkitty says:

    What a great title! I laughed so hard that tears spilled down my cheeks and I was gasping for breath. Thanks for starting my day off with a good laugh. The gourds, by the way, are fabulous. I love the colors and textures.Orestes sure seems interested. Give him a chin rub for me.

  5. Annika says:

    These are wonderful. I like the textures you have used.

  6. hannah says:

    What a fine collection. You turned them into oil paintings, Dutch School I reckon.
    Now I want to see them all in one shot. Never satisfied 🙂

  7. Gourds certainly suit the art and craft of photography well! Your images are lovely, as is your processing!

  8. absolutely love what you have done with these gourds, they look amazing! fantastic shots and great textures

  9. Rosie Grey says:

    I love your photos – such a great collection and wonderful processing!

  10. geanina says:

    Trick or treat? :)) Great images!

  11. Excellent photos! This puts me in the autumn mood 🙂

  12. Gail says:

    I love gourds, too! Last year I went to the farmer’s market and bought so many they were spilling out of two large containers in my dining room and breakfast nook. Love the photo of your cat interacting with the stem. So cute!

  13. Pat, these are all so beautiful, and Orestes adds your trademark whimsy.

  14. lisa says:

    Looks like you are all set for the season Pat!
    I tried growing gourds for the first time last year. Sorry to report, that is was a resounding failure! 😦 Much easier to buy them!

    These are wonderful photographs. I especially love the one of Orestes checking things out!

    Thank you so much for sharing today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    lisa.

  15. Oh wow, those are spectacular, like a painting.

  16. Merike says:

    Wonderful combosition! I like a painting effects. Fantastic.

  17. Leovi says:

    Excellent shot, I love the texture, color and framing of these precious pumpkins. Sure, you have advantage Orestes assistant.

  18. Marty Mason says:

    I didn’t meet any of your gourds I didn’t like:

  19. Tricia says:

    Very nicely shot & the texture are seriously applied perfectly… not too much & not too little! =)

  20. Love these gourd shots, beautifully composed and lit. And the texture additions are great!

  21. johanna says:

    all these are gorgeous photos! i love how you gave them some texture.

  22. Tammy says:

    These are so lovely. Totally framable works of art!

  23. Barb says:

    Gorgeous Gourds! lovely texture work!

  24. I think gourds are so photogenic! Your photos are very artistically done, Pat. 🙂

  25. JM says:

    What a wonderful series. The top shot is just gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

