My Backyard Prairie

To make a prairie it takes a clover and one bee
Emily Dickinson
1755

To make a prairie it takes a clover and one bee,
One clover, and a bee,
And revery.
The revery alone will do,
If bees are few.

28 Comments on “My Backyard Prairie”

  1. And a Prairie it is! Nice!

  2. texwisgirl says:

    oh that is cute! that little bee looks like he’s happily sitting in clover! 🙂

  3. Jim says:

    What more do we need!

  4. lisa says:

    These photos are wonderful Pat, and they truly make me smile. This weekend, I tried in vain to capture the same thing (bee on a clover flower). I followed one bee from flower to flower. Just could not get one I liked!

    Thank you so much for sharing these today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a wonderful day!

    lisa.

  5. JLI says:

    I just took pictures of the exact same kind of flower yesterday! I don’t know if it’s just a weed or what. It gets mowed over regularly, but upon closer inspection, it is truly beautiful! Lovely images!

  6. Lui says:

    That was an awesome capture, Pat!
    I love it! I don’t have a clover but there are bees around so maybe I can have my own prairie 😉

  7. Carletta says:

    As always, two beautiful shots!
    With that first shot you make clover a beautiful flower. 🙂

  8. Love the bee shot – great capture!

  9. Annika says:

    The poem + the photos = perfect!

    Thank you very much for your comment!

  10. I love Emily’s poetry and your captures make a perfect combo! I especially like the first on. It makes the commonplace appear very grand!

  11. Lisa says:

    Ahh, the under-appreciated honeybee. Wonderful capture. Hope you didn’t gets stung in the process! The photo is perfect with the prose.

  12. Tricia says:

    Ohhh that’s a really great shot of the bee… =)

  13. you show us summer, I like that. 🙂


Leave a Reply

